• BDBslide-45.png
  • BDBslide-40.png
  • BDBslide-35.png
  • BDBslide-30.png
  • BDBslide-26.png
  • BDBslide-10.png
  • BDBslide-09.png
  • BDBslide-08.png
  • BDBslide-07.png
  • BDBslide-061.png
  • BDBslide-05.png
  • BDBslide-04.png
  • BDBslide-03.png
  • BDBslide-02.png
  • BDBslide-01.png

We aim to showcase a few especially selected crime writers. They may not have been writing crime novels for very long but have shown talent and originality in what they have written so far.

My first crime writer is Winona Kent. You can find out about Winona HERE.

A big welcome to my second crime writer Joanna Vander Vlugt and you can find out all about Joanna HERE.

and now a huge welcome to my third crime writer Alice Bienia, yet another Canadian! You can get to know more about Alice HERE.


  Joanna Nov2021 small  
Winona Kent   Joanna Vander Vlugt   Alice Bienia

Winona Kent is an award-winning author who was born in London, England and grew up in Regina, Saskatchewan, where she completed her BA in English at the University of Regina. After moving to Vancouver, she graduated from UBC with an MFA in Creative Writing. More recently, she received her diploma in Writing for Screen and TV from Vancouver Film School.

After three time-travel romances (Persistence of Memory, In Loving Memory and Marianne's Memory), Winona returned to mysteries with Disturbing the Peace, a novella, in 2017, the novel Notes on a Missing G-String in 2019 and Lost Time in 2020. All three featuring the character she first introduced in Cold Play, jazz musician / amateur sleuth Jason Davey.

Read all about Winona at


Joanna Vander Vlugt is an author and illustrator. As a teenager, she drew charcoal portraits and wrote mysteries. Some years later, she would draw again.

Joanna became a fitness instructor and personal trainer. During this time, under the pseudonym J.C. Szasz, her short mysteries Egyptian Queen and The Parrot and Wild Mushroom Stuffing were published in the Crime Writers of Canada mystery anthologies.

Her personal essay, No Beatles Reunion was published in the Dropped Threads 3: Beyond the Small Circle anthology.

The Unravelling, her debut novel, was a Canadian Book Club Awards finalist.

Her second book Dealer's Child was published in October 2021. It continues with the success she experinced with her first book!


Alice Bienia is a Canadian crime writer and author of the Jorja Knight mystery series. Her debut novel, Knight Blind, was a 2016 Crime Writers of Canada Arthur Ellis Awards finalist. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, Crime Writers of Canada, and the Writers’ Guild of Alberta.

Her next Jorja Knight mystery,  Knight Trials, was published in February 2021.

This has been followed by another thrilling Jorja mystery Three Dog Knight, which was published in September 2021

With a Bachelor of Science degree in geology, Alice spent her early career conducting field exploration programs in remote regions of Canada, where she honed her passion for storytelling, reading, coffee, and adventure. After riding the energy industry rollercoaster for thirty years, Alice has finally found a way to put her inherent introversion to use and now writes full time.



Lost Time

Lost Time

Published August 2020

Buy through



Dealer's Child

Dealer's Child

Published October 2021

Buy through




Three Dog Knight

knight blind image x400
Published September 2021

Buy through