The Unravelling - Published June 2019

 

Goodreads Reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2021     Jade Thyme celebrates successfully defending Jules Cranbury on a murder charge. Her celebration is short-lived when she finds Jules murdered. Jade investigates and uncovers a secret justice society whose members hide behind white tabs and black robes while delivering their own vigilante justice. Jade locates a once prominent and respected lawyer, now known as Noxzema Man, homeless and panhandling in Fan Tan Alley. He warns Jade. Judges, lawyers and police make up the Society. Trust no one. The MotoCityDolls, her sister's all-female motorcycle gang, save Jade from a Society assassin. Forced to take a leave of absence, Jade packs up her office, but not before coming face-to-face with another assassin--Jules's murderer.

What I liked about this book

This is an action packed and compelling story from start to finish.
The Unravelling is well written, with perfectly set scenes and expertly crafted suspense.
Jade is a strong character who faces her fears head on and steps up to all of the challenge she faces.
The use of legal terms and current laws (Canada) add a layer of authenticity.
The Unravelling has a diverse and inclusive character set.

What I didn't like about this book

There were a few spelling mistakes and minor inconsistencies which did not affect the main story.
When reading the Unravelling I found myself thoroughly immersed and could not put it down.


Reviewed 8 February 2021    A fun read, plenty going on to keep you guessing who done it to the very end. I enjoyed myself and the ride this took me on.

 

Reviewed 30 January 2021    The Unravelling (Jade And Sage Mystery Book 1) by Joanna VanderVlugt is a an energizing, strange, creepy book. Other than pondering which individual the principle character would wind up with, I was likewise pondering what character in the book was the killer.

📝The book starts with a suspense where Jade Thyme celebrates effectively safeguarding Jules Cranbury on a homicide accusation. Her festival is fleeting when she discovers Jules killed. Jade explores and reveals a mystery equity society whose individuals take cover behind white tabs and dark robes while conveying their own vigilante equity.

📝Jade finds a once unmistakable and regarded legal advisor, presently known as Noxzema Man, destitute and begging in Fan Tan Alley. He cautions Jade. Trust nobody. The MotoCityDolls, her sister's all-female cruiser posse, save Jade from a Society professional killer. Compelled to withdraw from nonattendance, Jade gets together her office, however, not prior to encountering another professional killer - Jules' killer.

📝Cherished it! The words streamed so effective and it rushed to peruse, which I love. It was dazzling and it was the perfect measure of anticipation and activity. The sentences weren't exhausting and were extremely unmistakable. You could feel precisely as the characters did. It was likewise flawless, having it situated in the city that I live in, Victoria BC. Can hardly wait until the following book comes out.


Reviewed 7 February 2021    This is definitely one of those books you CANNOT put down. I literally read it in a day and a half. This thriller introduces us to Jade Thyme who is a lawyer defending her ex husband Jules Cranbury who’s being accused of murder. Alongside Jade we get to witness the Canadian justice system in a different light. One of greed, intrigue, deceit and above all love. Joanna VanderVlugt’s attention to detail is impeccable and you definitely get to experience everything from all of Jades’ emotions as she digs deeper to the smells and sounds that surround her as she’s unravelling the mystery as her life depends on it. Definitely a must read!

 

Reviewed 3 February 2021    The story is about Jade Thyme, who celebrates successfully defending Jules Cranbury on a murder charge. Her celebration is short-lived when she finds Jules murdered. Jade investigates and uncovers a secret justice society whose members hide behind white tabs and black robes while delivering their own vigilante justice. Jade locates a once prominent and respected lawyer, now known as Noxzema Man, homeless and panhandling in Fan Tan Alley. He warns Jade. Judges, lawyers, and the police make up the Society. Trust no one. The MotoCityDolls, her sister's all-female motorcycle gang, save Jade from a Society assassin. Forced to take a leave of absence, Jade packs up her office, but not before coming face-to-face with another assassin--Jules's murderer.

This book is pretty fast-paced and I keep guessing who's the murderer throughout the whole book. I already have my guess right after Jules was murdered, but I keep changing it since every single character is acting suspiciously. I really can't trust anybody. Even the love interests are pretty shady.

I like that there is a secret society controlling the law and doing their own vigilante justice. I wish we could see more of their schemes for bigger cases, maybe they're involved in the government, politics, or something. I also wish we could see more of Sage and her MotoCityDolls MC. You know I have a soft spot for MC ngl! In the next book perhaps?

If you love the tv show How To Get Away With Murder, I think you'll like this book! A very nice debut!


Reviewed 10 February 2021    It’s an Adult thriller and I loved the way story progresses. While reading the book you can see the climax coming but the way this revelation is done is just flawless. For me it’s a good read, I recommend it. It gives you a realistic view and helps you get a break from your fantasy readings. Book is always good when you can connect with the characters 😌 and here I did.


Reviewed 3 February 2021    I found The Unraveling to be exciting and fast paced! You end up playing detective throughout as you discover clues leading Jade to her ex-husband’s killer. I was guessing the whole time and unexpected plot twists would throw me off the trail and added a suprise that blew me away! It definitely kept me on my toes! Solid 4 stars! Great read!

 

Amazon Reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2020    This is the first book I have read by Joanna Vandervlugt and right from Chapter 1 I was completely immersed in her world of courtrooms, law firms, murder and mystery. I will not divulge any of the plot except to say that Jade makes her a very good but very vulnerable heroine! Well worth a read and I intend to read more of Joanna's books.


Reviewed 5 July 2019    Such an exciting, mysterious, spooky book. Besides wondering which fellow the main character would end up with, I was also wondering which character in the book was the murderer - who by the way was truly gruesome, but I loved it! The story kept me coming back for more and the action scenes had me running faster then expected on my treadmill! When can we read more about these characters? Is there another book coming? I love them!


Reviewed 29 July 2019    Just finished the book. Loved it! The words flowed so easily and it was quick to read, which I love. It was very captivating and it was just the right amount of suspense and action. The sentences weren't boring and were very descriptive. You could feel exactly as the characters did. It was also neat having it based in the city that I live in, Victoria BC. Can't wait until the next book comes out.


Reviewed 21 July 2019    At the end of every chapter it leaves you unable to put the book down, you know the feeling, ok ok one more chapter then I will get something done, ugh, this book keeps pulling you in.